Diver2500's Reviews

Papua Explorers Dive Resort

Listed in Dive Resort, TRAVEL

Tel: +628118000511 (WhatsApp) ,+6281319770760 (WhatsApp)

Pantai Pinsilim, Kamp. Yenwaupnor, Kec. Meos Mansar, Indonesia, Raja Ampat, Raja Ampat

Reviewed on September 26, 2016. #1 of 8 Reviews

9/26/16 Just returned from a seven-night stay at Papua Explorer resort with a group of divers from all over the states. We had divers from; Connecticut, Florida, Washington and California! I was fortunate to have bungalow #1 which was right next to the restaurant and the pier that took you out to the dive center. The Bungalows were comfortable, no AC, but nice breezes and a fan to help circulate the breeze! We had a 2-bed unit with plenty of space for our gear and all of my dive buddies camera gear!
The resort is stretched out over a white sand beach with the bungalows extending over the water and all with great views! They have a general meeting area where clients can kick back, have a brew or read a book and just relax. The same area is where their offices are and restaurant. It is all buffet style food with a surprising variety! They offer a mixture of menus for everyone pallet! With this group, no one starved. You were on the honor system as far as soft drinks and beers that were available.
You left your dive gear out at your bungalow door in a basket and the guys would take it out to the dive center for you. All you have to worry about where your wetsuit, booties and where your camera might be. They had separate rinse tanks for all the gear and cameras. They had a separate room for the cameras where the had plenty of stations! Each morning they would give you briefings and let the photographers know what they may expect. The broke the groups into groups of 4 to 6 divers per boat and 2 dive Masters per boat.
The resort is located out in the middle of Raja Ampat, just where all the Live Aboards go! Most dive sites are not more than a half hour away. except for a few that may take up to 1 1/2 hours to get to. But, once there you see why it was worth the trip!
The staff was great, always there to assist be it at the dive center or up at the restaurant. All the local staff came from the nearby villages and then they have their senior staff from all over the world, able to speak a variety of languages. If you have a chance to make it to Indonesia, make it over to Raja Ampat and visit Papua Explorer resort, you will be glad you did! Great resort, great people, and fantastic diving!

Cozumel Marine World

Listed in Dive Operator, TRAVEL

(011-521) 987 103 56 90

Carretera a chankanaab km4, Casa del Mar , San Miguel, Quintana Roo, Mexico, 77600, Cozumel

Reviewed on June 1, 2016. #1 of 8 Reviews

Gorman Dive Adventures and Travel Group takes on Cozumel!

This was my 17th trip back to the Island that started my career. In 1984, June, I was certified at Laguna Sea Sports in Laguna Beach California and in October of that year I signed on to a trip to Cozumel. My name is Tom Gorman III.We stayed at the La Ceiba Hotel as it was called at that time, now it’s the El Cid! Many of the resorts have changed names over the years and I have stayed at many of them; La Ceiba, Plaza Las Glorias, Sol Carib, Hotel Cozumel, Scuba Club, Fiesta Americana, Occidental Grand, Allegro and Casa Del Mar.
I have also dived with several of the dive operators; Dive Paradise, Aqua Safari, Dive House, Scuba Club and several more that have gone out of business. But, one operator that I have dived with and have known for years is Cozumel Marine World. It is own and operated by Jorge Marin, and his manager Alex and their whole staff work hard to make sure you have a great time of diving and that it is always safe!
I had a mixed group of divers from beginners to experience and I and the Dive Masters split up the group so that each diver would maximize their diving experience! Jimmy and I took the less experienced divers and some of my close friends and Jorge would have the more experienced and photographers of the group. This worked well all week!
Their boat was the Nuria, and it was perfect for 15 divers. It had lots of room, a head, O2, radio and a crew that was always there to help. You were helped with your gear, getting it from the lockers to the boat and once on board they help you set up or just stood back and let you do your own, with an experienced eye observing. Once at the dive site, a good briefing was given as to the name of the site, what to expect and who was entering the water first. We were split up into two groups for safety, 15 as a group would have been too large to control and take care of. The crew helped divers with their gear, helping with fins and tanks. They also took the time to walk each diver to the back of the boat, with hands on the tanks, to make our giant strides off the boat an easy jump! Some more experienced divers were allowed to just to tuck & rolls off the sides. Once in the water, they expected the sign that you were Ok, hand to the head, and told to move to the Dive Master. The group went down together, making sure that the ones who had ear problems were allowed to slowly make their decent. Once together the Dive Master would lead the way.
I describe Dive Masters as either a “Hunter” or a “Floaters”; one takes the time to look for critters, hidden secrets that the divers would miss and then take the time to make sure the diver got the best shot with his camera, the DM is the “Hunter”. The other, the “Floater”, just gets into the water and goes in a circle back to the boat show the divers nothing and has no interest in his job. We had two “Hunters”! The two Dive Masters spent the time trying to find as many critters that they could and we had the conditions for it; great visibility and slow currents. We saw Nurse Sharks, eels, rays, barracuda, turtles everywhere and many schools of fish!
So with the great conditions and a fantastic crew, my divers did more afternoon dives, several night dives and that did not include the shore dives that were available off their pier! What a great week of diving and if you plan to go, check out Jorge and Alex at Cozumel Marine World working with the hotel Casa Del Mar. They are my choice for top dive operator!

Cane Bay Dive Shop

Listed in Dive Operator, TRAVEL

340-718-9913

110C Cane Bay, NA, NA, USA, 00840, St. Croix

Reviewed on November 11, 2015. #1 of 1 Reviews

7/16/14 I took a group back to St. Croix for the 6th time. This trip we dived with Cane Bay Scuba and they were great. I had dived many of the spots located on St. Croix, but the guys of Cane bay made it so much more fun! I had a group of 12 divers and we did 5 days of diving and several of my guys and gals did beach dives right off the beach of Cane Bay’s dive shop.
We stayed at the Arawak Bay Inn, referred to us by Cane Bay and it was a great choice. We rented cars to get around and made it easier to get back and forth to the shop.
Cane Bay has a great boat, enough for 12 divers with plenty of room. They offer full rental gear, NITROX, training, repairs and tours. On each dive the group was allowed to hunt for Lion Fish to help deplete their population. The reefs were healthy, did several wreck dives and there were plenty of sea life; Sea Horses, Eagle rays, sharks, eels and much more.
At the end of the week they threw us a Pizza Night after our full day of diving. Hal and Suzanne made us feel at home and the whole crew made it a great week of diving. If looking for a dive operation in St. Croix, choose Cane Bay Dive Shop! I own Gorman Dive Adventures and Travel and we will go back!

Arawak Bay: The Inn at Salt River

Listed in Accommodations, TRAVEL

+1 340-772-1684

Kingshill,NA,St. Croix, US Virgin Islands,00851-3475,St. Croix

Reviewed on October 28, 2015. #1 of 1 Reviews

10/28/15 In June of 2013 I took my dive group to St. Croix to dive with Cane Bay Dive Shop out by Salt River. The shop suggested that we stay at Arawak Bay Inn while diving with them. The Inn was just a short ride to the dive shop and offered more accommodations than their cabin at the shop. We were greeted by the owner and she was a very friendly local whose family has been on the Island for many years!

She showed us our rooms and they were great, diver friendly and plenty of room. They had plenty of parking and the rooms were kept up very nicely! One of the best things about the Inn is its low key, friendly and welcoming feeling that they show to you as you walked into the room at any time. The staff always smiling, greeting you with a smile and a good day! Jennifer is a great cook and every morning she made a special breakfast that was to die for.

Pancakes that were thick and plentiful, best syrup you can find, eggs, bacon and potatoes that were warm and ready to eat! Her kitchen always fill the air with fresh cooking, and then her deserts! UUMMMM!

Check out the Inn and enjoy your stay!

Crystal Blue Resort

Listed in Dive Resort, TRAVEL

Anilao,Batangass,Philippines,4202,Luzon

Reviewed on July 14, 2015. #1 of 2 Reviews

I took a group to the Crystal Blue Water Resort in October of 2014. It was a long ride into Anilao and we got there by evening. The resort sits on a hill, like all the other resorts do in the area. We were met with the typical cool refreshment that we greatly appreciated and a cold towel. Our bags were taking to our rooms and fortunately mine was on the bottom floor. Problem was, I was 71 steps above the dive shop! Just something to remember. The resort is set in 4 different segments; top was were all the rooms were, two levels. Next was the office area and boutique. Staff was there till late at night! Next level was the camera room, which was very camera friendly. And finally the dive shop. Oh, then there were stairs down to the boats.
The boats were your typical Pilipino style boat, long and narrow, room for 4 to 6 divers. They were comfortable for us that trip because we only had 3 divers per boat. The shop itself have all the gear that you may need to rent, and plenty of area to store your gear. Plenty of rinse tanks and room to hang your gear overnight.
The diving was great, perfect if you had a camera; wide angle and macro! The dive spots were only minutes away and they had plenty of variety! If you next dive destination is to the Philippines, check out Crystal Blue Water Resort in Anilao.

Blue Waters Dive’N

Listed in Dive Resort, TRAVEL

Batteaux Bay,Speyside,Tobago,Trinidad and Tobago,Tobago

Reviewed on June 22, 2015. #1 of 1 Reviews

7/26/14 Just got back from Tobago and stayed at the Blue Waters Inn and dived with Blue Waters Dive’n. We all had a great time. The staff at the Inn were very attentive and helpful. Checking in was the usual fill out the paperwork and give your credit card. We had to take our own gear to our rooms, would have been nice if we had some help but it was late. The rooms were diver friendly, plenty of room and tile floors! Plenty of storage area and the bath room was clean and big. Nice big shower with plenty of hot water!
The resort sits at the bottom of a hill right on the beach with a spectacular view! The rooms are all close by and ours were near the dive shop and the pier. The restaurant/bar sit right in the middle of the resort and was the place to hang out. They have a game room and a well-stocked bar! Since we were on the Atlantic side of the Island, we got the trade winds and they were cool and gentle. Occasional rain would come and go, some sometimes very hard…it was the season!
We saw the other resorts on the Island and Blue Waters had the best site! You could swim, snorkel, kayak or just lie out in the sun on their crescent shaped beach! The food was expensive, but good. You need to check out the different menus to get the best deal and price. All in all we enjoyed our stay, the diving was great, the weather was kind to us and I would recommend to any diver to stay at Blue Waters Inn!

Aiyanar Beach and Dive Resort

Listed in Dive Resort, TRAVEL

+639178831439

Sitio Looc, Barangay Bagalangit, Mabini, Batangas, na, Philippines, na, na

Reviewed on June 4, 2015. #1 of 4 Reviews

6/4/15
Just got back from a wonderful week in Anilao,Philippines. I was able to stay at the Aiyanar Beach & Dive Resort. Flying in from LAX we took Korean Airlines through Incheon, Korea. Then down to Manila and then the obligatory 2 1/2 hour ride down to Anilao. We were taken by air-conditions vans supplied by the resort. Upon arrival we were greeted by the staff with warm towels to wipe of our brows and a tall soft drink of Mango juice. Nice way to start a vacation. We were ushered down to their lower level where their staff produced the paperwork we had to fill out. Our rooms were already assigned and our bags were found in our rooms.
The resort is a 4 tiered facility; bottom area was the dive deck and photo room, that room was nicely air conditioned, plenty of space, plenty of plug ins, air cable to dry blow your cameras and a center table to help set up your camera away from your station. next up was the lounging area were all meals were served. he staff there really knew what they were doing and Freddy, head of the kitchen, was there to make sure you got what you wanted. They made sure if you had a special diet, it was taken care. Above all that were the 2 levels of rooms. Mine was on the bottom level and I liked that. The rooms were roomy and had plenty of AC! The bathrooms were spacious, a large shower and soft compfy towels.
The dive center took care of all your diving needs and the boats held up to only 5 divers. Plenty of room to move around. They hung your gear out side, but plenty of security that you did not have to worry. The camera room was open at 6AM and stayed open till the last diver out, and then was locked. They had a full rental department and plenty of weights. They did need some more variety. Since my knees don’t climb too much anymore, they were able to drop down the ladder so that I could board the boat. very accommodating!
The diving was a mixture of soft coral reefs to Easter Egg hunting in the Muck! Such a great variety. Visibility varied from 40 to 80 feet, depending on what type of diving was planned for that day. Got in some great pics and will remember this resort as one to come back too!
If going to the Philippines, check out Anilao and check out; Aiyanar Beach & Dive Resort! great place to stay and great place to dive!

Baja Expeditions

Listed in Accommodations, Day Boat Charter, Dive Operator, TRAVEL, Travel Services

Sonora 585/Abasolo y Topete, Col. El Manglito La Paz, BCS, Mexico 23060

Reviewed on January 26, 2015. #1 of 1 Reviews

I have dived with Baja Expeditions many times and the dive shop I worked with out of Laguna Beach made three trips to La Paz a year. Baja Expeditions works with several hotels in the area and offer diving expeditions and Whale watching expeditions. They are based out of La Paz and make it easy to go from your hotel right to their docks! Check them out the next time you are in La Paz!

Reef Divers Cayman Brac

Listed in Dive Operator, TRAVEL

Brac Reef Resort, NA, Cayman Brac, Cayman Islnads, NA, Cayman Brac

Reviewed on January 20, 2015. #1 of 2 Reviews

Had the pleasure and excitement to go to Brac Reef resort twice. The first time we stayed for three days and had to flee because hurricane Dean was coming at us. The resort took all sorts of precautions for us and help us evacuate to Grand Cayman and fly out to Florida. Because we missed our 1st week, the resort comped us the days we last and the whole group went back the following year. The resort was fantastic, great rooms, pool, food and sat right on the beach. The dive operation, Reef Divers were helpful on the 1st trip by getting us out of the water and back to the resort so that we could start packing. The got all of our gear packed and ready to go! So coming back was a great reunion. Their boats were comfortable, fast and easy to dive off. Their Dive masters made diving easy. They were hunter, not floated who just waited till the dive was done and got you back to the boat. They hunted for animals to spot out and helped the divers with cameras get the best shot! If you are thinking about diving the Caymans, think Cayman Brac and think Brac Reef Beach resort and Reef Divers, you won’t be disappointed!

Brac Reef Beach Resort

Listed in Accommodations, Dive Operator, Dive Resort, TRAVEL

855-439-6804

West End, West End, na, Cayman Islands, KY2-2001, Cayman Brac

Reviewed on January 20, 2015. #1 of 4 Reviews

Had the pleasure and excitement to go to Brac Reef resort twice. The first time we stayed for three days and had to flee because hurricane Dean was coming at us. The resort took all sorts of precautions for us and help us evacuate to Grand Cayman and fly out to Florida. Because we missed our 1st week, the resort comped us the days we last and the whole group went back the following year. The resort was fantastic, great rooms, pool, food and sat right on the beach. The dive operation, Reef Divers were helpful on the 1st trip by getting us out of the water and back to the resort so that we could start packing. The got all of our gear packed and ready to go! So coming back was a great reunion. Their boats were comfortable, fast and easy to dive off. Their Dive masters made diving easy. They were hunter, not floated who just waited till the dive was done and got you back to the boat. They hunted for animals to spot out and helped the divers with cameras get the best shot! If you are thinking about diving the Caymans, think Cayman Brac and think Brac Reef Beach resort and Reef Divers, you won’t be disappointed!

Powered By DesignThisWebsite.com
Skip to toolbar